The Contribution Award recognises regulatory affairs professionals who have made a significant and consistent contribution to a regulatory team, project, regulatory science or to the profession as a whole within the past three years. They can be an internal member of the team or an individual contractor or consultant.

They should have a level of expertise and practical knowledge that inspires respect and confidence among their colleagues and external contacts. They will drive forward standards and good practice in regulatory affairs and lead by example by keeping up to date with current legislation and regulatory affairs practice.

This award category is open to individuals only.

Nominations may be for a person who has:

1. Demonstrated a high-level of regulatory affairs expertise.
2. Has driven better standards of regulatory affairs practices within the organisation.
3. Made a measurable difference to the success of a regulatory project or registration.
4. Acted as a mentor to their colleagues.
5. Demonstrated commitment to the improvement of healthcare regulatory affairs.
6. Raised the profile of the regulatory affairs team by acting as a regulatory affairs resource within the company or beyond.

Nominations may cover any type of regulatory project, for example:

1. PIP/MAA/CTA submission
2. Leading a team through a complex regulatory situation
3. SmPC negotiations
4. Leading an inspection team
5. Consistent achievement in managing personnel and projects.

Read our Information Pack for more details about the Awards and FAQs.

Previous winners and finalists

WINNER - Martin Schiestl, Austria 
FINALIST - Wafa Bouaziz, Germany
FINALIST - Ilan Irony, US

WINNER - Vicki Hayes PhD - Director of Consulting, DLRC Ltd, UK 
FINALIST - Joanne Bangs - Senior Regulatory Affairs Director, AstraZeneca, UK
FINALIST - Lada Leyens, Regulatory Senior Program Director, F. Hoffmann-La Roche, Switzerland

WINNER – Michael Banks, Senior Vice President, Teva, UK
FINALIST - Pilvi Jalonen, Regulatory Affairs Strategist, Global Regulatory Category Nutritionals and Digestive Health, Bayer, Switzerland
FINALIST - Sanyam Gandhi, Regulatory Affairs Strategy Lead, Takeda Pharmaceuticals, USA

WINNER - Jane Howard-Jones, Senior Director International RA, Gilead Sciences, UK
FINALIST - Hina Dixit, Regulatory Manager, New Product Evaluations, Norgine, UK
FINALIST - Mary Ryan, Quality Assurance and Regulatory Affairs Director, Penlon, UK
FINALIST - Pierre Omnes, ED, SSU & Regulatory, Syneos Health, France
FINALIST - Ruediger Pankow, Principal Consultant Regulatory Affairs, Parexel International, Germany 

WINNER - Steve Lee, Senior Regulatory Policy Manager – IVD, Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency, UK
FINALIST - Nishant Mahajan, Regulatory Affairs Manager, Clinical Development, Norgine Limited, UK
FINALIST - Paul McCleverty, Senior Director, Regulatory Oncology Regional Head, Janssen, UK
FINALIST - Sarah McFarlane, Regulatory Affairs Director, AstraZeneca, UK
FINALIST - Sarah Roberts, Vice President, Global Regulatory Affairs, PRA Health Sciences, UK  

WINNER - Mike McConnell - DLRC, UK
FINALIST - Andrew Marr - Marr Consultancy, UK
FINALIST - Caroline Le Doré - Sanofi, France
FINALIST - Julie Warner - Alan Boyd Consultants, UK
FINALIST - Maurizio Suppo - Qarad, Belgium