2019 winners and finalists

The winners of the TOPRA Awards for Regulatory Excellence 2019 were announced at a formal dinner and awards ceremony at The Merchant Taylors' Hall in London on 21 November.

 Communication icon  COMMUNICATION

  • WINNER - Martin Harvey Allchurch, Principal International Affairs Officers, EMA, and Governance and Board Relations Manager – External Relations, Unitaid, World Health Organization, Switzerland
  • FINALIST Will Drury, Senior Business Associate, Cyton Biosciences Ltd, the Netherlands
  • FINALIST Global Regulatory Affairs, EU Regulatory Team, Primary Care Sanofi, France
Contribution icon


  • WINNER - Steve Lee, Senior Regulatory Policy Manager – IVD, Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency, UK
  • FINALIST Nishant Mahajan, Regulatory Affairs Manager, Clinical Development, Norgine Limited, UK
  • FINALIST Paul McCleverty, Senior Director, Regulatory Oncology Regional Head, Janssen, UK
  • FINALIST Sarah McFarlane, Regulatory Affairs Director, AstraZeneca, UK
  • FINALIST Sarah Roberts, Vice President, Global Regulatory Affairs, PRA Health Sciences, UK 

Education icon


  • WINNER - Daniela Drago, former Associate Professor at George Washington University’s School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Washington DC, USA and now Senior Director, US Regulatory Sciences, Biogen, USA
  • FINALIST Roche's Rare diseases Regulatory Expert network (RaRE), Switzerland
  • FINALIST Caroline Vanneste, former Manager, Therapeutic Products Directorate, Health Canada

  • WINNER - Regulatory team at Boyds, UK
  • FINALIST Global Stem Cell Technology, Belgium
  • FINALIST Karen Taylor and Sebastian Payne, Deloitte LLP Centre for Health Solutions, UK 
Horizon icon


  • WINNER - Jack Daley, Regulatory Operations Manager, Gilead Sciences, UK
  • FINALIST Ashley Dukes, Manager, Regulatory Affairs Therapeutic Group, Global Regulatory & Quality, Research & Development, GSK, UK
  • FINALIST Clara Desvignes, Senior Regulatory Scientist, Voisin Consulting Life Sciences (VCLS), France
  • FINALIST Vatsala Patel, Regulatory Affairs Executive, Regulis Consulting, UK
  • FINALIST Sabine Ruhle, Senior Regulatory Associate, Boyds, UK

Innovation icon


  • WINNER - MedBoard, UK
  • FINALIST Business Workflow Enablement for Labeling (BWEL), Merck & Co, Inc, USA (BWEL Leads: Anita Cunningham, Exec Director Global Labeling Regulatory Affairs, John Janick, Director Innovation & Information Management, Jamie Brubaker Hall, Director Labeling Operations Innovation & Information Management)
  • FINALIST Joyce Tait, Co-Director, Innogen Institute, University of Edinburgh, UK

Inspiration icon


  • WINNER - Lavonne Patton, Director, Regulatory Affairs and Product Development for the Regulatory Sciences Group of Cardinal Health Specialty Solutions, USA
  • FINALIST Janet Lewis, Head of Regulatory Affairs MCO (UK & Ireland), GRA Region Europe, Sanofi, UK
  • FINALIST Lucy Clayton, Therapy Area Director, Clinical Development, Norgine Limited, UK
  • FINALIST Louisa Ballard, Senior Manager, Regulatory Affairs & Quality Compliance, EMEA - STERIS Corporation, UK

Support icon SUPPORT

  • WINNER - Regulatory Affairs Team, Regulis, UK
  • FINALIST Clinigen Group Regulatory Affairs Team, UK
  • FINALIST Klifovet AG, Munich, Germany

Lifetime Achievement icon  LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD   
  • WINNER - David Jefferys
  • WINNER - John Deavin